Subscribe to The Good Sauce podcast on Apple, Google, Spotify, SoundCloud or Player FM.
You can help others find it by giving us a 5 star rating and review on Apple Podcasts.

Cartooning in the time of ‘woke’

  • Wednesday, 7 October 2020
  • 7pm Sydney | 6pm Brisbane | 4pm Perth | 9pm Auckland

Hosted by Warren Mundine, Truth Talking is live streamed to Facebook & YouTube where viewers can join the conversation with real time comments and questions as the panel discusses the important issues.

In this episode…

Cartooning may be the most elegant, efficient and effective medium for political opinion. It relies on caricature – satirising people through exaggerated, sometimes grotesque, images and often through ridicule.

In 1835 King Louis-Philippe of France described caricature as “an act of violence”. Some modern-day elites feel the same way. More and more, cartoonists are being warned off covering certain identities and topics, with accusations of bigotry and campaigns for cancellation.

But if some categories of people are off-limits for ridicule, how can they fully participate in public life?

And how can we have meaningful political commentary if some topics can’t be satirised?

Can cartooning survive the ‘woke’ era?

Hear what our panel has to say: guest cartoonists Johannes Leak (The Australian), Warren Brown (The Daily Telegraph) & Mark Knight (The Herald Sun).

Fight fake news! The Good Sauce is bringing balance to the corporate media echo chamber. We are the first conservative source of videos and podcasts by so many independent voices from Australia. Our articles transparently distinguish between opinions and briefings: honest news without "progressive" agendas or euphemisms. Would you like to help us grow and produce more conservative new media? Become a Good Sauce supporter today and also enjoy extended interviews & bonus content.

Nyunggai Warren Mundine AO is a highly respected and influential businessman, political strategist and advocate for empowering indigenous Australians to build businesses and sustainable economies. His life and career have been shaped by a personal commitment to community and economic development and he has nearly 40 years’ experience working in the public, private and community sectors. In 2016 Warren was made an Officer of the Order of Australia.

News & views you can trust

Conservative voices are constantly being deplatformed and shadow-banned from the most popular social media platforms. Like & follow is no guarantee you'll see the posts you need & want.

The only guaranteed way to guard against corporate censorship is to go direct to the source and bypass the strangers deciding what you shouldn't see & read.

To get a regular digest of articles, interviews & news direct to your inbox SUBSCRIBE NOW!

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This